Soft Places to Land

Caprice Andrade
2 min readMar 11, 2022

--

Photo by abe mello on Unsplash

There is a place that I go to rest easy,

where the only feeling I have as I close my eyes is the saturation of the sun pressing my skin; I can finally breath again.

I close my eyes, and I can feel a gentle summer’s kiss against my collarbone and hear nothing but the rustling of the tall grass leaves swaying with the breeze.

There is a place that I go to rest easy.

There is a place far away from the paralyzing touch of my mind,

the cold darkness of my neurotic thoughts where my anxiety basks in asphyxiating my peace. I’m tired.

As I feel myself slip into the unconventionality of my own inner thoughts, there is a place that I go to rest easy as I brace the storm.

My head hurts, my eyes feel heavy, and I’m crumbling to give a piece of myself to everyone that needs it. I’m exhausted.

And yet, I can’t falter into my own demise… not now.

There is a soft place that I go to lay my constant, migraine inducing head.

It rises and lowers at the rhythm of his soft breathing.

The temporary feeling of bliss he gives me is perfect and soothing, but then he is gone, and my head lays on the cold once more.

I know the importance of self reliance, and yet, I shelter myself upon another heartbeat instead of my own. Is that why I feel so alone?

There is a soft place to land my soul,

one I go when I can no longer carry the weight of my own essence.

My room is dark and cold, but I close my eyes and I feel the saturation of a burning sun pressing against my skin.

I close my eyes and take a deep breath. I can feel a gentle summer’s kiss against my collarbone and hear nothing but the rustling of the tall grass leaves swaying with the breeze.

I’m walking, no, running through the meadow, feeling hot sand under my feet.

Nothing matters, yet I feel whole.

There are soft places to land, and as I open my eyes and adjust to the frigid temperature of my small room,

I brace for summer to embrace me as this bitter winter passes.

--

--